Ventoy Forums
DSL ISO won't boot - Printable Version

+- Ventoy Forums (https://forums.ventoy.net)
+-- Forum: Ventoy General Use (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Ventoy Discussion Forum (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: DSL ISO won't boot (/showthread.php?tid=2252)

Pages: 1 2


DSL ISO won't boot - nguyen ha thai trong - 11-19-2022

Image file download link (if applicable)

[color=var(--color-accent-fg)]https://distro.ibiblio.org/damnsmall/release_candidate/dsl-4.11.rc2.iso


http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/download.html[/color]


RE: DSL ISO won't boot - Steve2926 - 11-19-2022

DSL is hard-coded to boot from a real CD/DVD drive.
Use the embedded/initrd version of DSL to boot from ISO.


RE: DSL ISO won't boot - nguyen ha thai trong - 11-19-2022

That's it, thank you


RE: DSL ISO won't boot - nguyen ha thai trong - 11-19-2022

So is there any way to boot that DSL ISO? I tried booting dsl-4.4.10-initrd.iso with ventoy/grubfm/aioboot and it failed.


RE: DSL ISO won't boot - Steve2926 - 11-20-2022

dsl-4.4.10-initrd.iso - works ok LEGACY BOOT on E2B, grubfm (partnew) and Ventoy in compatible mode (ctrl-i) for me (under VBOX 5) ??
of course, DSL does not support UEFI.


RE: DSL ISO won't boot - nguyen ha thai trong - 11-20-2022

On a shirt like vmware/vbox/qemu all booted successfully whether using ventoy or grubfm or aioboot, including dsl-4.11.rc2.iso, but on real machines there is always an error


RE: DSL ISO won't boot - Steve2926 - 11-20-2022

dsl-4.4.10-initrd.iso works OK for me with E2B, but under Ventoy menu system it may send output to the VGA monitor output rather than the HDMI output.
I have both VGA monitor and HDMI monitors on my PC and the VGA monitor shows DSL desktop but the HDMI monitor still shows the Ventoy menu but it is not responsive because it is actually running DSL and using the VGA output!
Under Ventoy:
Try Ctrl+i and F7 for text mode (and when it boots to grub prompt - try typing dsl vga=normal instead of just hitting ENTER)


RE: DSL ISO won't boot - nguyen ha thai trong - 11-21-2022

you have 2 monitors so boot ok, on my laptop, even if i follow your instructions, boot still error


RE: DSL ISO won't boot - Steve2926 - 11-21-2022

What error do you see?


RE: DSL ISO won't boot - Steve2926 - 11-21-2022

P.S. On my IdeaPad 300 notebook I also needed the noacpi switch. So using Ventoy you need

ctrl+i  for compatible mode
F7 for text mode
at boot prompt after booting ISO, type  dsl noacpi

(note: not noapic  but  noacpi !!!)