Ventoy Forums
Can VENTOY work on GPT HDD? - Printable Version

+- Ventoy Forums (https://forums.ventoy.net)
+-- Forum: Ventoy General Use (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Ventoy Discussion Forum (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: Can VENTOY work on GPT HDD? (/showthread.php?tid=326)



Can VENTOY work on GPT HDD? - vishalvodro - 06-28-2020

I have a 4TB HDD which I want to use for VENTOY. And rest partition I could keep for some other purpose.

So can VENTOY use GPT since MBR only supports upto 2TB?


RE: Can VENTOY work on GPT HDD? - longpanda - 06-28-2020

Currently NOT, but in my plan.
If you choose GPT, that means you will only use it in UEFI mode.

Maybe you can try to install Ventoy manually.
1. create a Part1 and Part2 in the disk in GPT format
2. set Part2 as ESP partition and format it with FAT file system
3. In Ventoy's install package, there is a ventoy/ventoy.disk.img.xz file, xz decompress it to get ventoy.disk.img
    This is a 32MB raw disk img. Get all the content in this img and copy them to Part2

Then you can try it.


RE: Can VENTOY work on GPT HDD? - vishalvodro - 06-28-2020

(06-28-2020, 11:18 AM)longpanda Wrote: Currently NOT, but in my plan.
If you choose GPT, that means you will only use it in UEFI mode.

Maybe you can try to install Ventoy manually.
1. create a Part1 and Part2 in the disk in GPT format
2. set Part2 as ESP partition and format it with FAT file system
3. In Ventoy's install package, there is a ventoy/ventoy.disk.img.xz file, xz decompress it to get ventoy.disk.img
    This is a 32MB raw disk img. Get all the content in this img and copy them to Part2

Then you can try it.

Thanks for prompt reply and very helpful it was indeed.

Good to know that you're keeping GPT Format in plan. What I could say is, if you can implement the option for MBR or GPT as per the user's choice, would have been great though.


RE: Can VENTOY work on GPT HDD? - KaMyKaSii - 06-28-2020

(06-28-2020, 11:53 AM)vishalvodro Wrote:
(06-28-2020, 11:18 AM)longpanda Wrote: Currently NOT, but in my plan.
If you choose GPT, that means you will only use it in UEFI mode.

Maybe you can try to install Ventoy manually.
1. create a Part1 and Part2 in the disk in GPT format
2. set Part2 as ESP partition and format it with FAT file system
3. In Ventoy's install package, there is a ventoy/ventoy.disk.img.xz file, xz decompress it to get ventoy.disk.img
    This is a 32MB raw disk img. Get all the content in this img and copy them to Part2

Then you can try it.

Thanks for prompt reply and very helpful it was indeed.

Good to know that you're keeping GPT Format in plan. What I could say is, if you can implement the option for MBR or GPT as per the user's choice, would have been great though.

If he said this is in the plan, that's exactly how he plans to do it. He taught you how to do it now manually and made it explicit that choosing GPT partitioning means giving up booting Ventoy on Legacy BIOS systems


RE: Can VENTOY work on GPT HDD? - randallstevens - 07-04-2020

(06-28-2020, 11:18 AM)longpanda Wrote: Currently NOT, but in my plan.
If you choose GPT, that means you will only use it in UEFI mode.

Maybe you can try to install Ventoy manually.
1. create a Part1 and Part2 in the disk in GPT format
2. set Part2 as ESP partition and format it with FAT file system
3. In Ventoy's install package, there is a ventoy/ventoy.disk.img.xz file, xz decompress it to get ventoy.disk.img
    This is a 32MB raw disk img. Get all the content in this img and copy them to Part2

Then you can try it.

I tried this but after boot, grub loads in console mode. Chainloading ventoy_x64.efi gives the error - "Unable to find (hd0,msdos2)"

Looks like the mbr partition location is hard coded into ventoy code.


RE: Can VENTOY work on GPT HDD? - vishalvodro - 07-04-2020

(07-04-2020, 06:50 AM)randallstevens Wrote:
(06-28-2020, 11:18 AM)longpanda Wrote: Currently NOT, but in my plan.
If you choose GPT, that means you will only use it in UEFI mode.

Maybe you can try to install Ventoy manually.
1. create a Part1 and Part2 in the disk in GPT format
2. set Part2 as ESP partition and format it with FAT file system
3. In Ventoy's install package, there is a ventoy/ventoy.disk.img.xz file, xz decompress it to get ventoy.disk.img
    This is a 32MB raw disk img. Get all the content in this img and copy them to Part2

Then you can try it.

I tried this but after boot, grub loads in console mode. Chainloading ventoy_x64.efi gives the error - "Unable to find (hd0,msdos2)"

Looks like the mbr partition location is hard coded into ventoy code.

Yes, it doesn't work.


RE: Can VENTOY work on GPT HDD? - longpanda - 07-05-2020

GPT support has been implemented and will be avaliable in the next release.
https://github.com/ventoy/Ventoy/issues/266


RE: Can VENTOY work on GPT HDD? - vishalvodro - 07-05-2020

(07-05-2020, 01:21 AM)longpanda Wrote: GPT support has been implemented and will be avaliable in the next release.
https://github.com/ventoy/Ventoy/issues/266

Yes, saw that! Thank you for hearing us out...