Ventoy Forums
VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER in grub.cfg not working? - Printable Version

+- Ventoy Forums (https://forums.ventoy.net)
+-- Forum: Ventoy General Use (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Ventoy Discussion Forum (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER in grub.cfg not working? (/showthread.php?tid=1444)

Pages: 1 2


VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER in grub.cfg not working? - Steve2926 - 11-26-2020

/grub/grub.cfg

Code:
if [ "$grub_platform" = "pc" ]; then
    set VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER="Ventoy $VENTOY_VERSION BIOS  www.ventoy.netXXXXXXX"
else
    set VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER="Ventoy $VENTOY_VERSION UEFI  www.ventoy.netYYYYYYY"
fi


Menu text is not changed?


RE: VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER in grub.cfg not working? - longpanda - 11-26-2020

This is only used in txt mode.
For GUI mode, it's a easter egg in the source code.
https://www.ventoy.net/en/plugin_theme.html


RE: VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER in grub.cfg not working? - Steve2926 - 11-26-2020

yes - I can't find it in source code.
I want to modify source code so that my version is not confused with yours.
Where is the easter egg laid?


RE: VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER in grub.cfg not working? - longpanda - 11-26-2020

I suggest that:
1. you put a new background image.
2. You can set a variable in grub.cfg  set VTLE_CLR=#0000ff  or call  grub_env_set("VTLE_CLR", "#0000ff"); in source code. 
This will change the color of this version string. Modify the color value to let it the same with the background where is displayed.
Then the string will not be visible.

As for the easter egg, I still wait for someone to find it  Big Grin


RE: VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER in grub.cfg not working? - Steve2926 - 11-26-2020

Thanks for the tip.
I have used cccdce which just about works, but it also makes the version number and the UEFI\Legacy text disappear.
Also, if a user defines his own theme, he will see the text as light grey on his wallpaper again.


/grub/grub.cfg
Code:
...

#export necessary variable
export theme
export gfxmode
export gfxpayload
export vtoydev
export vtoy_path
export vtdebug_flag
export vtoy_iso_part
export vtoy_efi_part
export VENTOY_VERSION
export VTOY_CUR_VIDEO_MODE

set VTLE_CLR=#cccdce



RE: VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER in grub.cfg not working? - longpanda - 11-27-2020

Yes. 
You can define another hbox in theme.txt and ask user to remain this hbox when they define new theme (like the hotkey tip hbox)
Code:
+ hbox{
    left = 5
    top = 95%
    width = 10%
    height = 25
    + label {text = "1.0.29 BIOS This is a New Ventoy release" color = "red" align = "left"}
}


As for the easter egg, I will point it out at some time if still nobody find it.


RE: VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER in grub.cfg not working? - Steve2926 - 11-27-2020

at end of all_in_one.sh I get some errors - see screenshot.
It is does not affect the  .zip file, but I just wondered if there is a problem in the sh file or maybe I am missing something?
P.S. Still not found easter egg


RE: VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER in grub.cfg not working? - tianyou888 - 12-24-2020

The eggs are very good. They are very deep. Big Grin


RE: VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER in grub.cfg not working? - alive - 12-25-2020

(11-27-2020, 12:57 PM)Steve2926 Wrote: at end of all_in_one.sh I get some errors - see screenshot.
It is does not affect the  .zip file, but I just wondered if there is a problem in the sh file or maybe I am missing something?
P.S. Still not found easter egg

https://github.com/ventoy/Ventoy/blob/fb7008f49a85493e34daadf21710a1db3a9c74f7/GRUB2/MOD_SRC/grub-2.04/grub-core/ventoy/ventoy.c#L1382


RE: VTOY_TEXT_MENU_VER in grub.cfg not working? - mrplick - 01-09-2021

(11-27-2020, 12:57 PM)Steve2926 Wrote: at end of all_in_one.sh I get some errors - see screenshot.
It is does not affect the  .zip file, but I just wondered if there is a problem in the sh file or maybe I am missing something?
P.S. Still not found easter egg
Did you ever get an answer for the errors in the screenshot.
I am also getting the same errors.  no such file or directory for /ISO_TMP/EFI/ventoy/ventoy.gz
As for the Xorriso cmd not found.  I installed the Xorriso package.
I get the same errors in 1.31 and 1.32 when making the live cd.