Ventoy Forums
Boot Linux from VHD ??? - Printable Version

+- Ventoy Forums (https://forums.ventoy.net)
+-- Forum: Ventoy General Use (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Ventoy Discussion Forum (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: Boot Linux from VHD ??? (/showthread.php?tid=704)

Pages: 1 2


Boot Linux from VHD ??? - mat-industries - 09-27-2020

Since the latest version of Ventoy also supports booting from VHD, I have been working on this for the last few days.
Windows (different versions) I get all of them running.
Linux however does not. I tried everything I could think of, but without success.
Did anyone of you already manage that ???


RE: Boot Linux from VHD ??? - longpanda - 09-28-2020

Ventoy 1.0.22 

Add Linux vDisk boot plugin (install linux distro into a vhd/vdi/raw file and boot with Ventoy)

See:  https://www.ventoy.net/en/plugin_vtoyboot.html


RE: Boot Linux from VHD ??? - Egyptian Raptor - 09-28-2020

Good Day,

After this latest update I decided to make a Kali Linux VHD. I created a VM on Hyper-V and installed in it Kali Linux with full updates and full package.
Installed the vtoy script and renamed the file as instructed and still after copying a 40 GB+ file to my 256 GB Flash Disk it refused to boot and errored out.
If any one have any experience or pointers please advise. Thanks.


RE: Boot Linux from VHD ??? - longpanda - 09-28-2020

What is the error? some photos?


RE: Boot Linux from VHD ??? - Egyptian Raptor - 09-28-2020

(09-28-2020, 10:06 AM)longpanda Wrote: What is the error? some photos?

Thanks for the prompt reply and sorry for my delay as I had to take the kids to their Tennis training,

I will put 5 pictures of the issue the describes the sequence of prompts starting from choosing the VHD to errors.
Keep in mind I did the vtoy command in the VM prior to using the VHD, also It is a fixed disk image with a fully installed and updated Kali Linux.

[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]

Sure hope this explains it. Thanks again.

p.s. Just in case if the images do not show

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dXQ9fJmXQNhSUE-uN1XhNZ6lkQNRyIAC/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZbzAMvfwdmd6W9vxHZ6Z9o9P_NnB8YUm/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rZUZtqvFEIwQhpnR5L-9ZBWfkiwGQO_0/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/113_vEG3WDFjmyZU3heUkoByKiYNrtzKa/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1nHRgnxuv1SE2TIgR2Wl8AxXab2JB-LYa/view?usp=sharing


RE: Boot Linux from VHD ??? - mat-industries - 09-29-2020

(09-28-2020, 02:40 AM)longpanda Wrote: Ventoy 1.0.22 

Add Linux vDisk boot plugin (install linux distro into a vhd/vdi/raw file and boot with Ventoy)

See:  https://www.ventoy.net/en/plugin_vtoyboot.html
Hi longpanda,

thank you so much for making this possible.
I have tried yesterday a clean install with Ubuntu latest Version.
After finished installation, i put the the VHD to Ventoy Stick, and it runs without any problems.
Thank you very much.

By the way, why .img images don´t work with ventoy jet ? Is there still work in progress, or what make i wrong, i can´t boot any kind of .img files. :-)

Best regards,
Martin.


RE: Boot Linux from VHD ??? - Midas - 09-29-2020

(09-29-2020, 08:02 AM)mat-industries Wrote: I have tried yesterday a clean install with Ubuntu latest Version.

After finished installation, i put the the VHD to Ventoy Stick, and it runs without any problems.


Thank you for your feedback, Martin. It really encourages me to try it... Cool


RE: Boot Linux from VHD ??? - Egyptian Raptor - 09-29-2020

(09-28-2020, 06:07 PM)Egyptian Raptor Wrote:
(09-28-2020, 10:06 AM)longpanda Wrote: What is the error? some photos?

Thanks for the prompt reply and sorry for my delay as I had to take the kids to their Tennis training,

I will put 5 pictures of the issue the describes the sequence of prompts starting from choosing the VHD to errors.
Keep in mind I did the vtoy command in the VM prior to using the VHD, also It is a fixed disk image with a fully installed and updated Kali Linux.

[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]

Sure hope this explains it. Thanks again.

p.s. Just in case if the images do not show

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dXQ9fJmXQNhSUE-uN1XhNZ6lkQNRyIAC/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZbzAMvfwdmd6W9vxHZ6Z9o9P_NnB8YUm/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rZUZtqvFEIwQhpnR5L-9ZBWfkiwGQO_0/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/113_vEG3WDFjmyZU3heUkoByKiYNrtzKa/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1nHRgnxuv1SE2TIgR2Wl8AxXab2JB-LYa/view?usp=sharing

I would really appreciate the assistance if any one has any information. Thanks and have a great day.



RE: Boot Linux from VHD ??? - longpanda - 10-08-2020

(09-28-2020, 06:07 PM)Egyptian Raptor Wrote:
(09-28-2020, 10:06 AM)longpanda Wrote: What is the error? some photos?

Thanks for the prompt reply and sorry for my delay as I had to take the kids to their Tennis training,

I will put 5 pictures of the issue the describes the sequence of prompts starting from choosing the VHD to errors.
Keep in mind I did the vtoy command in the VM prior to using the VHD, also It is a fixed disk image with a fully installed and updated Kali Linux.

[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]

Sure hope this explains it. Thanks again.

p.s. Just in case if the images do not show

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dXQ9fJmXQNhSUE-uN1XhNZ6lkQNRyIAC/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZbzAMvfwdmd6W9vxHZ6Z9o9P_NnB8YUm/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rZUZtqvFEIwQhpnR5L-9ZBWfkiwGQO_0/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/113_vEG3WDFjmyZU3heUkoByKiYNrtzKa/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1nHRgnxuv1SE2TIgR2Wl8AxXab2JB-LYa/view?usp=sharing


Which BIOS mode did you use? Legacy BIOS or UEFI?

If you used Legacy BIOS mode you can change to UEFI mode and retry.
But you need to reinstall Kali in UEFI mode also (with virtual machine).


RE: Boot Linux from VHD ??? - Egyptian Raptor - 10-08-2020

(10-08-2020, 04:50 AM)longpanda Wrote:
(09-28-2020, 06:07 PM)Egyptian Raptor Wrote:
(09-28-2020, 10:06 AM)longpanda Wrote: What is the error? some photos?

Thanks for the prompt reply and sorry for my delay as I had to take the kids to their Tennis training,

I will put 5 pictures of the issue the describes the sequence of prompts starting from choosing the VHD to errors.
Keep in mind I did the vtoy command in the VM prior to using the VHD, also It is a fixed disk image with a fully installed and updated Kali Linux.

[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]
[Image: view?usp=sharing]

Sure hope this explains it. Thanks again.

p.s. Just in case if the images do not show

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1dXQ9fJmXQNhSUE-uN1XhNZ6lkQNRyIAC/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ZbzAMvfwdmd6W9vxHZ6Z9o9P_NnB8YUm/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rZUZtqvFEIwQhpnR5L-9ZBWfkiwGQO_0/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/113_vEG3WDFjmyZU3heUkoByKiYNrtzKa/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1nHRgnxuv1SE2TIgR2Wl8AxXab2JB-LYa/view?usp=sharing


Which BIOS mode did you use? Legacy BIOS or UEFI?

If you used Legacy BIOS mode you can change to UEFI mode and retry.
But you need to reinstall Kali in UEFI mode also (with virtual machine).


Hi. I had already tried it with UEFI using another installation and still the same issue. The only thing that I see that could be a problem is that HyperV first creat a Dynamic VHDX upon creation then I manually convert it to a Fixed Size VHD, would this be a problem??