Ventoy Forums
Install Ventoy on HDD 3To does not work - Printable Version

+- Ventoy Forums (https://forums.ventoy.net)
+-- Forum: Ventoy General Use (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Ventoy Discussion Forum (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: Install Ventoy on HDD 3To does not work (/showthread.php?tid=70)

Pages: 1 2


Install Ventoy on HDD 3To does not work - Tech-LTI - 06-09-2020

Hi,

im new on Ventoy forum (and Ventoy user), i cant install Ventoy on my USB WD 3To. Is this normal operation or is it a bug ?

More precisely Ventoy did not see my USB.

Thanks for helping guys Wink

(if it is written in the documentation I could not see sorry ...)


RE: Install Ventoy on HDD 3To does not work - longpanda - 06-09-2020

(06-09-2020, 08:42 AM)Tech-LTI Wrote: Hi,

im new on Ventoy forum (and Ventoy user), i cant install Ventoy on my HDD WD 3To. Is this normal operation or is it a bug ?

More precisely Ventoy did not see my HDD.

Thanks for helping guys Wink

(if it is written in the documentation I could not see sorry ...)

Ventoy only list devices in USB interface by default.

If you really want to install Ventoy to a non-USB device, you can run from cmd  Ventoy2Disk.exe  -U
Take care about the selection because all the disk will be listed in this way.


RE: Install Ventoy on HDD 3To does not work - Tech-LTI - 06-09-2020

(06-09-2020, 10:58 AM)longpanda Wrote:
(06-09-2020, 08:42 AM)Tech-LTI Wrote: Hi,

im new on Ventoy forum (and Ventoy user), i cant install Ventoy on my HDD WD 3To. Is this normal operation or is it a bug ?

More precisely Ventoy did not see my HDD.

Thanks for helping guys Wink

(if it is written in the documentation I could not see sorry ...)

Ventoy only list devices in USB interface by default.

If you really want to install Ventoy to a non-USB device, you can run from cmd  Ventoy2Disk.exe  -U
Take care about the selection because all the disk will be listed in this way.

My 3To is a USB Device (sorry i misspoke ...)


RE: Install Ventoy on HDD 3To does not work - longpanda - 06-09-2020

Is the list still empy when you use Ventoy2Disk.exe -U ?


RE: Install Ventoy on HDD 3To does not work - Tech-LTI - 06-09-2020

(06-09-2020, 03:16 PM)longpanda Wrote: Is the list still empy when you use Ventoy2Disk.exe  -U  ?

Not empty but with -U i have my internal HDD (C: + D: ) but not my USB Sad


RE: Install Ventoy on HDD 3To does not work - longpanda - 06-10-2020

Please give the log.txt


RE: Install Ventoy on HDD 3To does not work - Tech-LTI - 06-10-2020

(06-10-2020, 03:22 AM)longpanda Wrote: Please give the log.txt
Done Smile


RE: Install Ventoy on HDD 3To does not work - longpanda - 06-10-2020

error code 5 mean access denied. The disk may be occupied by other progress.
What's your Windows version ?


RE: Install Ventoy on HDD 3To does not work - Tech-LTI - 06-11-2020

(06-10-2020, 10:35 AM)longpanda Wrote: error code 5 mean access denied. The disk may be occupied by other progress.
What's your Windows version ?
Windows 10 1909 x64 pro

I try to delete all partition = same
i try to creat partition with 1To = same


RE: Install Ventoy on HDD 3To does not work - KaMyKaSii - 06-11-2020

Repeating my comment on another topic with slight modifications:
Windows is problematic. Install some live Linux (like Lubuntu) on a USB stick, boot it and use the Ventoy sh script to install Ventoy on your external HD