Ventoy Forums
check pc hardware before booting crazy idea - Printable Version

+- Ventoy Forums (https://forums.ventoy.net)
+-- Forum: Ventoy General Use —— Ventoy 使用交流 (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Ventoy Discussion Forum (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: check pc hardware before booting crazy idea (/showthread.php?tid=2780)



check pc hardware before booting crazy idea - aboamir@gmail.com - 02-07-2024

I have multiple hardware configurations at my site, and I need to check my computer's RAM. In case the memory is less than or equal to 2GB, I have to run “Hiren Boot 10”. And if the memory is more than or equal to 4GB, I have to run "Hiren Boot 11".

ventoy can do that ? if the answer is yes

i need Any ideas or help to do this?


RE: check pc hardware before booting crazy idea - Steve2926 - 02-10-2024

Press F5 and select Hardware Information

You could maybe make a F6 menu item to display $grub_total_ram variable

create a new file: \ventoy\ventoy_grub.cfg

contents:

menuentry 'Total Memory' --class=custom {
echo $grub_total_ram MB
read
clear
}

menuentry '<-- Return to Ventoy menu [Esc]' --class=vtoyret VTOY_RET {
echo 'Return ...'
}


RE: check pc hardware before booting crazy idea - aboamir@gmail.com - 02-11-2024

(02-10-2024, 11:21 AM)Steve2926 Wrote: Press F5 and select Hardware Information

You could maybe make a F6 menu item to display $grub_total_ram  variable

create a new file:  \ventoy\ventoy_grub.cfg

contents:

menuentry 'Total Memory' --class=custom {
echo $grub_total_ram MB
read
clear
}

menuentry '<-- Return to Ventoy menu [Esc]' --class=vtoyret VTOY_RET {
    echo 'Return ...'
}

can ventoy excute automaticly iso file when ram value ix 2 GB or 4 GB



RE: check pc hardware before booting crazy idea - Steve2926 - 02-12-2024

You would have to create your own F6 menu to do this
You can test memory but then you would need to run the ISO using ventoy

e.g.
if [ $grub_total_ram -ge 4000 ] ; then xxxx; fi
if [ $grub_total_ram -le 4000 ] ; then yyyy; fi

where xxx and yyy would run different ISOs.

but the developer does not support this
https://forums.ventoy.net/showthread.php?tid=1835&pid=4397&highlight=iso_common#pid4397