Ventoy Forums
problems booting with ventoy on MSI Z690-P - Printable Version

+- Ventoy Forums (https://forums.ventoy.net)
+-- Forum: Ventoy General Use (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Ventoy Discussion Forum (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: problems booting with ventoy on MSI Z690-P (/showthread.php?tid=2253)



problems booting with ventoy on MSI Z690-P - haatjee - 11-19-2022

Hi there,

So I made a ventoy usb, with a couple of ISO, I tried this out on a VM and it seemed to work fine. But when I try on on my physical pc it is just glitched. Look at the top of the screen, this happens after I selected in boot menu the ventoy drive. I dont know how to fix. My specs are: MoBo: MSI Z690-P, i7 12700k, 32GB RAM, MSI RTX 3080TI.

[Image: 3ysEWT3.jpg]


RE: problems booting with ventoy on MSI Z690-P - Steve2926 - 11-20-2022

Do you mean that this happens when displaying the Ventoy (grub2) menu system - or happens after selecting a bootable payload file in the Ventoy menu system and then choosing an option (e.g. 'normal') - if so which payload file are you using?
If a menu issue, did you try pressin F7 for text mode menu?


RE: problems booting with ventoy on MSI Z690-P - haatjee - 11-20-2022

the menu system, what you see is bascically the menu system but it is just split in 4 parts somehow, I tried different themes and the F7 also everything without succes. This has something to do with msi boards i guess. What do you mean with payload ?


RE: problems booting with ventoy on MSI Z690-P - Steve2926 - 11-21-2022

How is your monitor connected to the graphics card?
Can you try a different output? Do you have the latest VGA BIOS? RTX 3080TI and Display Port 1.4 monitors - VGA BIOS has/had issues
https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?threads/rtx-3080-ti-suprim-x-msi-users-with-issues-with-displayport-connection-to-a-monitor-black-artifacts-boot.377942/
payload = a bootable file such as an ISO or VHD or IMG or EFI file.


RE: problems booting with ventoy on MSI Z690-P - haatjee - 11-21-2022

(11-21-2022, 09:02 AM)Steve2926 Wrote: How is your monitor connected to the graphics card?
Can you try a different output? Do you have the latest VGA BIOS?  RTX 3080TI and Display Port 1.4 monitors - VGA BIOS has/had issues
https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?threads/rtx-3080-ti-suprim-x-msi-users-with-issues-with-displayport-connection-to-a-monitor-black-artifacts-boot.377942/
payload = a bootable file such as an ISO or VHD or IMG or EFI file.
With an DP, I can try a different output, I dint flash my gpu tho. And have iso files in it.