Ventoy Forums
Cant´t load some ISOs - Printable Version

+- Ventoy Forums (https://forums.ventoy.net)
+-- Forum: Ventoy General Use (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Ventoy Discussion Forum (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: Cant´t load some ISOs (/showthread.php?tid=2144)



Cant´t load some ISOs - enesalpa - 08-06-2022

Hello

In Ventoy 1.0.79 I cant´t load:

- Darik's Boot and Nuke 2.3.0
- MiniTool Partition Wizard Enterprise 12.6
- MiniTool Partition Wizard Technician12.6
- Ultimate Boot CD 5.3.9
- Hiren's BootCD 15.2

Anybody knows how to fix it?

Many thanks

Windows 10.0.19044.1288
Windows 11.0.22000.318


RE: Cant´t load some ISOs - Steve2926 - 08-06-2022

Press h for help.

Try F1 or ctr+r ?

If WinPE based, try ctrl+w


RE: Cant´t load some ISOs - enesalpa - 08-07-2022

Nothing works...

Gives this reply:

No bootfile found for UEFI!
Maybe the image does not support x64 UEFI!

All other 36 ISOs work perfectly


RE: Cant´t load some ISOs - longpanda - 08-08-2022

Test these ISO files with Vmware firstly.
Create a VM by VMware and set it to UEFI mode and connect the ISO file to the CD/DVD of the VM and then boot it.
If the VM can not boot the ISO file fine then Ventoy probably won't be able to boot it either.
Some ISO file does not match the UEFI bootable ISO file format specification.


RE: Cant´t load some ISOs - Steve2926 - 08-08-2022

There are two 'modes' for a BIOS
1. IBM BIOS compatible/CSM/Legacy - uses old 1981+ IBM legacy BIOS calls
2. UEFI - latest type of firmware

If you are UEFI-booting to Ventoy, the Ventoy Menu system will display e.g.

1.0.79 UEFI

at the bottom of the menu screen

This means you have booted in UEFI or EFI mode and so your payload files (ISOs, VHDs IMG files, etc.) must support UEFI booting.

If you run Ventoy in BIOS\Legacy mode (power-on - press F8/F11/F12/DEL/ESC (depends on BIOS) - and select non-EFI USB boot option) - then you will boot in Legacy\CSM mode.

Then 'old' payload files should work (Ventoy will display 1.0.79 BIOS in menu).


RE: Cant´t load some ISOs - Van Flusen - 08-08-2022

Read this post with Minitool example:
https://forums.ventoy.net/showthread.php?tid=2011&highlight=minitool
1. Copy the Minitool.iso to the desktop
2. Copy the efisys.bin from C: > Windows > Boot > DVD > EFI > en-US to your desktop
3. Use UltraISO for example and open Minitool.iso
4. Click Bootable > Load Boot File... and select the efisys.bin from desktop and save the .iso
Now the Minitool.iso should boot into UEFI with Ventoy.


RE: Cant´t load some ISOs - Steve2926 - 08-09-2022

- Darik's Boot and Nuke 2.3.0
- Ultimate Boot CD 5.3.9
- Hiren's BootCD 15.2
These are Legacy\BIOS only. They are not UEFI bootable
Use HBCDPE
see also https://rmprepusb.blogspot.com/2018/11/adding-dban-with-uefi-64-bit-support-to.html
ShredOS ISO UEFI-boots in Ventoy.


RE: Cant´t load some ISOs - Van Flusen - 08-09-2022

(08-09-2022, 05:05 AM)Steve2926 Wrote: - Darik's Boot and Nuke 2.3.0
- Ultimate Boot CD 5.3.9
- Hiren's BootCD 15.2
These are Legacy\BIOS only. They are not UEFI bootable
Use HBCDPE
see also https://rmprepusb.blogspot.com/2018/11/adding-dban-with-uefi-64-bit-support-to.html
ShredOS ISO UEFI-boots in Ventoy.

Possibly it should be mentioned that it should be tested on a physical system.
HBCDPE does not boot in UEFI with VirtualBox (in my test), on real system HBCDPE boots in UEFI.


RE: Cant´t load some ISOs - Steve2926 - 08-10-2022

Ventoy does not always work under VBox with some payloads. I don't know why. I rarely get any problems with other menu systems based on grub2\grub4dos\syslinux\isolinux, just Ventoy gives problems.
Same HBCDPE ISO UEFI-boots OK with grubfm under VBOX.
With Ventoy, if it doesn't work under VBox you always have to then test on real system.