Ventoy Forums
Ventoy Linux GUI - Printable Version

+- Ventoy Forums (https://forums.ventoy.net)
+-- Forum: Ventoy General Use —— Ventoy 使用交流 (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Ventoy Discussion Forum (https://forums.ventoy.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)
+--- Thread: Ventoy Linux GUI (/showthread.php?tid=124)

Ventoy Linux GUI - AgentX - 06-20-2020

Is there any chance of getting a Ventoy version for Linux with a GUI like you have for Windows? Thanks

RE: Ventoy Linux GUI - longpanda - 06-20-2020

In the future release.

RE: Ventoy Linux GUI - KaMyKaSii - 06-20-2020

(06-20-2020, 03:19 PM)longpanda Wrote: In the future release.

Can I know what your approach will be to make the program as portable as possible? I am not a developer but I would like to suggest that you use the App Image format to make the app compatible with as many distributions as possible. But if you are new to application development and know how to program in Python, it may be simpler for you to develop the Ventoy installer with a GUI using this language, which is also widely used in Linux distributions

RE: Ventoy Linux GUI - dee - 06-20-2020

CLI approach is more reliable and simple.

RE: Ventoy Linux GUI - tlmiller76 - 06-20-2020

While overall I'm fine with the current way things are done in linux, I would argue against app image. It's bloated, it's a Windows-y way of doing things, and it's just an overall horrible way of doing just about anything.

RE: Ventoy Linux GUI - AgentX - 06-20-2020

(06-20-2020, 05:56 PM)tlmiller76 Wrote: While overall I'm fine with the current way things are done in Linux, I would argue against app image. It's bloated, it's a Windows-y way of doing things, and it's just an overall horrible way of doing just about anything.

Not even remotely true. Appimages work GREAT.

RE: Ventoy Linux GUI - tlmiller76 - 06-20-2020

(06-20-2020, 06:23 PM)AgentX Wrote: